Emerald and Rose Cities

I’ve been in Seattle for the past week and Kim and I took a trip down to Portland for the 4th of July weekend.  Both cities are great.  Similar and yet different in their own ways.

Seattle really is a place I could see myself living.  I know the weather can suck.  Well forgive me if I’m wrong but the DC area this year has sucked too if memory serves me correctly.  How many rainy days, record setting rainfall, violent thunderstorms, heat waves, etc. have we had?  And when it’s nice here it is hard to beat.  77 degrees yesterday on my afternoon ride.  No humidity.  No bugs.  Just sun and an epic view.

Portland is similar to Seattle in that it has an outdoors-punk rock culture.  Biking is not just for clowns wearing brightly clad spandex.  Everyone seems to ride bikes.  Beer of course is high priority too.  Kim and I stayed at the Hilton downtown.

Side note:  I hate “fancy” hotels.  They nickel and dime you on everything.  Internet access = $9.95.  What?  Every hotel these days has free WiFi.  The Hiltons are still using Ethernet cables and then want to charge you.  Breakfast – not free.  Parking – $18/day.  And the list goes on.  Just stick me in the Comfort Suites with free breakfast, WiFi, gym, parking, …  I know I’m not in the upper echelon of the socio-economic ladder so I’m happy with free, mediocre stuff.

Back to Portland.  Kim and I hit the Rose garden and Japanese garden.  We hit Deschutes brew pub, Voodoo Donuts, Old Towne Pizza, Mother’s Bistro, Venerable Quandary, and so on.  You get the idea.  Lots of eating and drinking.  Unfortunately, I also got a cold.  A couple of hard days of riding up in Seattle, the plane travel, and a lack of rest coming into this trip left me susceptible I guess.  So Saturday was sort of lame.  I laid in bet a lot.  Sunday I managed a short, easy bike ride to explore the city some more and then we drove to the coast.  We hit Seaside and Astoria (of Goonies fame I think).

Now I’m back in the airport, still fighting this itchy cough, and looking to the end of the week when I am planning to hit the NMBS race in Windham, NY.  Could be a rough showing if I don’t get better soon.

~ by Indy on July 8, 2008.

2 Responses to “Emerald and Rose Cities”

  1. Glad you enjoyed visiting both cities. Hope the itchy cough doesn’t get too bad but if it’s a cold, it will have to run its course…a week usually. I’ll speak w/you soon. Love, Mom

  2. Thanks for the post

Leave a Reply

 
