Riding like Sally

Rode to the Ride Sally Ride race.  Good god it was like being in a sauna the entire day.  I had not planned on racing, instead my intention earlier in the week was a long day of riding on Saturday.  But since Kim and I had plans for dinner out in Ashburn I thought I’d put it all together.  Ride to the race, burn up my match book, then ride another 30 minutes to our friend’s place and meet everyone to eat and drink.  The plan was great. It panned out perfectly.  About 70 miles of riding.  Some good intensity racing.  Beautiful sunny skies.  And temperatures typical of Death Valley.  Holy crap I was totally fried when I got to Mike’s for dinner.  I took a shower – never bringing the dial of the faucet out of the blue – and still the water wasn’t cold enough for me.

The race:  It was fun.  The course wasn’t very tough, but couple the heat with wind and a small, aggressive pack, and it made things hard enough for me.  With 2 to go my hamstrings cramped so bad I couldn’t pedal.  I just rode to the curb and gingerly extracted myself from the bike.  After the race, while others were cooling down, I jumped back on the bike to spin my legs.  No dice, my hamstrings shot straight up into my ass cheeks.  Ouch.  Fast forward 1 hour.  I am re-hydrated, fed, and cooled down.  While stretching I get a stinger in my left shoulder then both my inner quads lock up.  WTF?  After that I was fine and rode an easy pace to Mike’s without incident.  I think I diluted my system before the race during the ride out on the W&OD.  I was drinking a lot of water, some Gatorade, but probably not enough of the latter.  E-caps next time.

In any case, our plan was to attack and make something stick.  The usual suspects (Kevin, Bryan, etc) were active which made the race fast at times.  At one time or another everyone of us from Bike Doctor tried an attack.  Ian rolled off the front after maybe 10 (of 30) laps and the pack sort of took a breather – it was enough time to allow him and the Whole Wheel guy to get a gap.  So we went to the front and just covered moves.  I could tell some guys (Bryan) was getting frustrated by the typical rubber-necking of the pack.  Someone jumps, a few join, but these guys are so spent from bridging to the attacker(s) that they don’t want/can’t work to help the gap grow.  So instead the peloton sees daylight and more bridge, only to have these guys go tits up too.  Eventually the break just becomes an extension of the peloton.  In my defense, that was all I was gonna do – follow the moves.  If it started to stick, I’d help, but I wasn’t going to help bring the “pilot fish” along and ultimately close down what was a tenuous 15 second gap.  So, it went on like this for a while.  Attacks, cover, pace picks up, only a few are willing to work, things slow back down, the break gets bigger.  Worked for us.  Ian got 2nd and my match book was empty.

~ by Indy on June 10, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
