Mucinex Revisited

Year of the Rat.  No, for me it has been Year of the Snot.  I am getting reacquainted with Mucinex again.  I visited the Doc last Monday before heading off to Arizona.  It seemed my cold was persisting and I began to think it was coupled with, or solely because of, allergies.  Whatever the case, 1 day of near-race intensity followed by 3 consecutive days of racing, all in the dusty, dry, desert environs of balmy AZ left me choking yet again like the Marlboro Man.  So tonight I sleep with the ‘nex.  Love asthma and all the life-time damage it does to one’s lungs.  I’ve been test many times by the medical profession and the diagnosis is always the same.  My lungs are shot.  Pulmonary stress test =  33% of the fine capillary pathways compared with the “average Joe” for my age and weight.  Max airflow test = pathetic.  Most of the time I don’t notice.  But when it’s allergy season and/or I get a cold that moves to my lungs I feel the terrible constriction of drowning in my own snot and small airways.  I’m going to start wearing a surgical mask from now on – for everything.  I think this cold (or whatever it is) is going on 4 weeks.  Probably has something to do with the fact that March and April have sucked!  Rain, clouds, and cold.  This place sucks.

~ by Indy on April 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
