Riding Woes

last weekend I hit the deck on the 7am ride when my front wheel slid out on some black ice. It happened so fast I just held on and did my best Pete Rose. Turns out that was the best thing I could have done. The road was so slick I just slid smoothly across the road for a bit. No bruises, scrapes, aches, or pains. If only all crashes were that easy.

Today the wee-man and I went to Frederick to get in some climbing time. The weather was cold and damp. Roads slick yet again, but no ice. Some miscues on our direction and a critical climb closed left us feeling unsatisfied. Plus, by the time we were back at the car the temps had risen a good 10 degrees and the sun was out.

Now Mother-N is out to make us suffer tomorrow. The team ride is at 10am in Waldorf. The NWS warns us against such things…Awesome. Guess the guys under a buck-50 better worry about staying upright.

…WIND ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 8 AM TO 7 PM EST SUNDAY…
THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN STERLING VIRGINIA HAS ISSUED A WIND ADVISORY…WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 8 AM TO 7 PM EST SUNDAY.
AN ARCTIC FRONT WILL SWEEP THROUGH THE REGION TOMORROW MORNING. BEHIND THIS FRONT WINDS ARE EXPECTED TO INCREASE FROM THE WEST AT 25 TO 30 MPH WITH FREQUENT GUSTS OVER 45 MPH.
A WIND ADVISORY MEANS THAT WINDS OF 35 MPH ARE EXPECTED. WINDS THIS STRONG CAN MAKE DRIVING DIFFICULT… ESPECIALLY FOR HIGH PROFILE VEHICLES. USE EXTRA CAUTION.

I’ll leave with my example of the “barking spider style” taught by drunken monks

ex2-tcm-03-06-1234.jpg

~ by Indy on February 9, 2008.

One Response to “Riding Woes”

  1. […] not so much like black ice. Although my fear of black ice isn’t completely unfounded…I hit the deck last year on the 7am ride on black […]

Leave a Reply

 
