Shaolin

AKA – Staten Island. So named by the Wu-Tang Clan

The trip up to Connecticut ended with a shot fuel pump on I-691 near Meriden while returning from my friend’s and heading back to my Sister’s. Some towing and I had the car at the shop in Woodbury. Next town over from my Sister’s. The knuckleheads got the car at 1pm on Thursday when I dropped it off. My plan to pick up Kim at Newark was shot – which worked out ok because her flight back from Cheeseland was canceled due to storms in ChiTown. Anyway….these effers never looked at the car and by Friday afternoon I was back in the tow truck heading for Staten Island. Kim’s brother had an engagement party on Saturday so I figured I’d get the car down here where at least I could have someone the family knows work on it and make the party in New Jersey last night. Kim finally made it back late Friday night – after spending the night in a hotel in Greenbay. Actually, 10 miles outside Greenbay since all hotels were booked for the Packers game. After sitting on the tarmac for 2+ hours because of air traffic congestion at Newark, she landed around 9pm. 16 hours behind schedule.

So a sweet week for car and air travel for the two of us. If the car isn’t ready by Monday I plan to take Amtrak back to DC. Thus completing the trifectaPlanes, Trains, and Automobiles. I’m betting on a bridge giving out and plunging 200 feet into the Susquehana river.

I road today for 3 hours with the SI club. The roads here are perfect for cyclocross practice. And even better for my healing bones. Still, the ride was nice and the company is aways great on the ride.

~ by Indy on August 26, 2007.

One Response to “Shaolin”

  1. […] Sucks!  I’ve written about riding on Staten Island before when I go visit family and the story is about the same.  The […]

Leave a Reply

 
