Carl Dolan

Nothing great to report. Well my tan, or rather sunburn, is coming along nicely.

This was not my kind of course because there was nothing selective about the course. A good course description and race strategy can be found at gamjams.net by BJ Basham. Ironically, I tried the attack approach he wrote about, at the top of the hill with two laps to go, got the prime, and a good gap. In fact, heading into the wind on the backside I had delusions it might stick…the gap seemed good enough. The downhill into the course’s only turn however carries so much speed that one lone skinny cyclist against a chasing pack of 100+ is no match and I was caught at the top of the hill with one to go. I stayed at the front hoping my teammates would work their way up to me. Our plan was to lead Josh out for the win since this course is made for a sprinter like him – he was riding strong and had already won 2 of 5 primes and told me mid-race he was feeling good and thought he could take it. So I stayed on the right side of the pack, near the front. I kept looking over my shoulder, even yelling his name in case I just couldn’t see him, but he wasn’t there. Coming into the finishing uphill sprint the pace up front was picking up. I just hoped he and Ian were nearby. I launched a sprint with 350+ meters to go. Way, way, way too early. But my idea was that if he was several wheels back and I just couldn’t see him that this would help to keep the pace high and give him a lane to go. I pulled off at 200m to go as guys started to creep up on me. In hind sight, I should have just stayed on the gas, in the saddle, with 350m to go instead of sprinting – my moto: another lesson learned. I should have just kept going to the line, letting Josh, or anyone else, come around me. That was our plan. Keep your line and he would come around. Well, turns out he and Ian were back there, but a little farther than I thought. So, I pulled off to get the hell out of the way since I wasn’t going to contest the sprint anyway. Turns out I may have made the right choice. After I pulled off a nasty crash ensued just up the road in the lane I was in. Unfortunately, Josh and Ian were caught up in it. Josh went down, but luckily wasn’t hurt – except for maybe his pride and the bitterness of not being able to contest the sprint he could have, and probably would have, won. That’s racing.

Here’s a pic of the 17 year old winning and the pile up can just be seen in the back left. Pic from Jim Wilson’s site.  Turns out the guy with his head down (Mike Esmonde) was on my wheel when I started sprinting.  So, turns out I lead out the wrong guy/team.  Mike said it was a good sprint – and subsequently lead out – after the race.  Somehow, since it wasn’t Josh or Ian, that’s not too comforting.

show_imageaspx.jpg

~ by Indy on April 23, 2007.

4 Responses to “Carl Dolan”

  1. That was you on the flyer? A teammate of mine was working to shut down all breaks to give me a chance in the sprint, so I guess I’m responsible in part for you not staying away (as responsible as I can be without actually doing any work myself to bring you in). The Artemis guy on the left side is my teammate, ostensibly leading me out. Only I’m not directly behind him – I’m a rider to his left. And I didn’t actually get around him either. Another lesson learned for me too – pre-race plans are written in pencil. Lightly.

    Good job avoiding the carnage. I heard it, and it made me shudder.

  2. sweet report. im that 17 year old you referred to. im actually still 16 haha.

  3. I sat up halfway in the sprint, then came back and took 3rd.

    I was looking for you around the time you took off w/ 2 to go, but was blocked in by arbitrary D20 numbskull pack riders. I refer, of course, to guys hooking handlebars w/ me. I was skurred after my Walkersville incident (costly and painful) and couldn’t find you up front.

  4. JK is right. The leadout man should go for the win as well! Let your spinter come around you UNLESS you hear yell for you to get out of the way!

Leave a Reply

 
