Blown

From the national weather service…”A STRONG COLD FRONT ENTERING NORTHERN PENNSYLVANIA WILL PUSH INTO THE MID ATLANTIC REGION THIS AFTERNOON. GUSTS UP TO 45 MPH CAN BE EXPECTED MID AFTERNOON THROUGH EVENING. WINDS THIS STRONG CAN MAKE DRIVING DIFFICULT… ESPECIALLY FOR HIGH PROFILE VEHICLES.”

I went for an hour lunch break ride and was leaning 30 degrees into crosswinds to avoid getting blown over – or worse – into traffic. At one point I passed two cyclists heading the opposite direction. One was walking. Being the good (cyclist) Samaritan I stopped to see if they needed anything. The guy walking relied “NO! I need a fucking ride – this wind sdjksj…” I couldn’t catch the rest of his rant because after the opening statement I turned and just kept going. Hey, sorry you’re struggling – its tough out there. But geez I was trying to help. Perhaps he thought his outburst was sort of humourous given HIS situation. Not so for me – I had a tailwind and some guy cursing at me. Good luck. Asshole.

Anyway – at least it was warm and sunny. AND, I didn’t die. Surprise!

~ by Indy on March 5, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
