AGU

San Francisco and the AGU conference was fun. The conference was about 12k strong full of geeks, nerds, and scientist egomaniacs, but still a blast. I saw some familiar UMD faces, met some new folks, and ran into some folks from the past. The research was well received and I made some good contacts for future collaboration.

On the downside, SF is really expensive. I had heard that before, but was surprised when an apple, orange, and bag of nuts cost me over $5. My hotel was very nice…luckily I wasn’t paying for it. But for all the niceties, nothing was free. No internet access, gym access, breakfast, or even the paper – no they all were gonna cost something. Bullshit if you ask me. I could have stayed at the Days Inn and gotten all of the above for free.

I put some pix up on flickr. They are from Thursday when I went sightseeing. Saw Chinatown, Fisherman’s Wharf, Haight-Ashbury, Golden Gate bridge, and some more. On the way back from the Fisherman’s Wharf a cabie decided to pull a u-turn in front of my Street Car. We devastated the car, blowing out the windows, but thankfully no one was hurt.

I will be back in SF for the AAG conference in April. I think I will stay at the Days Inn or equivalent.

gg_bridge.jpgtaxi_crash.JPGchinatown.jpg

~ by Indy on December 20, 2006.

One Response to “AGU”

  1. […] far SF has been better than my previous trip out here. Certainly weather and season play a big factor. Plus having a laptop with me, free wireless access […]

Leave a Reply

 
