Tortellini w/Asiago-Walnut Sauce

  • 9oz refrigerated tortellini
  • 2 tbl chopped walnuts
  • 2 tsp walnut oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 c half-and-half
  • 1/2 c shredded Asiago cheese
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 c chopped cilantro
  • 1/4 tsp ground pepper
  1. Cook tortellini
  2. cook walnuts in dry, medium skillet for about 3 minutes or until aromatic – don’t burn
  3. remove walnuts to a plate and add oil
  4. cook garlic for about 2 minutes, or just browning. Again, don’t burn
  5. Add half-and-half, increase heat to medium-high, but don’t allow to boil.
  6. Stir in cheese and salt once half-and-half is hot
  7. When cheese melts, add cilantro
  8. Pour sauce over tortellini; top with walnuts and pepper.
  9. Voila!

This meal kicks ass and takes about 15 minutes to prepare and cook. Sooo damn tasty.

Kim has left this evening for Chi-town and the marathon. She will be running Sunday, then Monday morning she leaves for Seattle for work and won’t be back to DC until Saturday morning after taking a red-eye next Friday. Whirl-wind.

So I have my hall pass and am sitting here enjoying the above meal – which I plan to finish off by myself and then have ice cream and strawberries with homemade Belgian waffles I made this morning. Exciting stuff, I know. Judd will appreciate the food part – both because of his appetite and appreciation for all things savory.

I have a race tomorrow and looking forward to some good fall weather. It has been typically odd weather lately – sunny, windy, cold, warm, rainy. The leaves are changing and the blustery weather is quintessential autumn.

For the race tomorrow – my group I am racing in is going to be big – already 80+ racers pre-registered and there is a 125 race limit. Whew…its going to require getting a good start and staying on the gas the whole time.

In other news….I presented my research findings to my advisor yesterday and things went well.  Good brainstorming stuff to tighten up my presentation and plan my next steps.  I need to get some writing done and get some papers out, but the more immediate goal is to right my proposal and defend to my committee. Hopefully in the next 6 weeks.

Its a busy schedule lately: I am sitting in on a statistics course (I’ve had plenty of stats before, but when you don’t use it on a regular basis you quickly forget the nuances and intricacies needed for proficient analysis), sitting in on a C programming class, teaching myself IDL programming on the side, and tutoring 5 students for the Geography 100 class. Couple that with research, tons of reading (which I can’t keep up with) and writing – oh and add in the bike riding and training and racing, and I am packed. OK, time to wrap this up then I guess.

More later…

~ by Indy on October 20, 2006.

2 Responses to “Tortellini w/Asiago-Walnut Sauce”

  1. no wonder I don’t hear from you often

  2. ps – the torellini sounds decadent and where do you purchase walnut oil?

Leave a Reply

 
